The Deception of Perfection

Perfection. That sure is a tough word to grasp. I struggle with the desire to achieve what I tell my self is “perfection.” Having the qualities of an oldest child, I’ve been like this my whole life! I am NOT good at surrender. I’m totally a control freak. I want things done my way. I struggle with letting go and letting God.

I recently read this and it really hit home, “Saying yes to God isn’t about perfect performance; it’s about a perfect surrender.”

Whenever I feel like I missed the mark, I over think and over analyze my actions, wishing that I could just change what I did or somehow achieve what I couldn’t do. This leaves me feeling empty, and worthless. What’s encouraging to me is that in those moments when I feel defeated, Jesus is right there holding my head up speaking truth over me. I am Loved. I am Worth It. I am Brave. I am Important. I am Forgiven. He sees me. The control freak, the worrier, and all of my flaws and sins, He sees all of it. And yet He still loves me. He forgives my iniquities and imperfections so that I can stop striving for the arbitrary worldly “perfection.”

A woman in the Bible who probably struggled with the perils of perfectionism as well is, Martha. In Luke 10:40-41 Martha slaved away in the kitchen probably preparing dinner, straightening place mats, ensuring that everything would be ‘just so’ for Jesus. Meanwhile, Mary sat at Jesus’ feet, absorbing every word. Martha, weary from all of her work, marched into the living room and demanded Mary’s help. Jesus stopped her mid-sentence and gently said, ““Martha, dear Martha, you’re fussing far too much and getting yourself worked up over nothing. One thing only is essential, and Mary has chosen it—it’s the main course, and won’t be taken from her.”

Jesus made it perfectly clear; He doesn’t need us to be flawless in His presence. He doesn’t need the put together “perfect” me. He desires to see the pajamas-at-3pm me, the broken, messy, flawed girl who is desperately in need of Him. How freeing is it to know that Jesus WANTS that side of you!?

He deeply desires our true selves and our whole heart. Only when we are truly seeking Him are we perfected.

Matthew 5:48 states, “Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect.”

Now you might be thinking whoa, whoa, whoa, you just said that Jesus doesn’t ask us to be perfect. You’re right, He doesn’t! The Greek word used here is telios meaning, complete. So being perfect in this sense is not often how perfectionists like myself view perfection. (wow that was a lot of perfect in one sentence!!) Rather this form of perfection is being complete in Christ! From here on out, let’s set out to seek completion in Christ, and abandon the idol of perfection!

I hope this encourages you to abandon perfectionism and seek freedom today! Thank you so much for reading.

signature

Leave a Reply

