Haiti Through My Eyes {17 Special Moments}

Despite hearing several negative things about Haiti, I came home with a much different perspective. While you don’t need a plane ticket or a passport to be a missionary, I am so blessed to have been chosen by God to be sent on this journey! These are 17 special moments that meant the most to me.

1. At the first village we visited, I held a little miracle in my arms. One day, this boy might become the president of Haiti and lead them out of oppression. Maybe he’ll open an orphanage and rescue Haitian children from the grips of poverty. I don’t know what this child will do, but I believe that this little boy will be used by God in mighty ways.

2. Watching the sunrise in Haiti was a special event. Every morning there was a masterpiece in the sky, and I took the opportunity to watch it. Every sunrise is a new invitation to thank the Lord for the privilege of simply being alive.

From the rising of the sun, to the time that it sets, praise the Lord!

//PSALM 113:3//

3. I decided that my 32oz Nalgene just wasn’t enough to keep me hydrated…so I found a “new & improved” water bottle. : )

wpid-2015-10-21-11.22.21-1.jpg.jpeg

4. Our open bed truck had extra space in the front to stand and sightsee over the top of the truck. I loved riding up there and taking in the stunning scenery that surrounded us. Everywhere I looked were reminders of how good God has been to me. I may never understand why He has given me so much, but I simply have to trust that everyone is where they are for a reason.

5. After I shared the story of Jesus feeding the 5,000, the children were asked to read Philippians 4:13. From the youngest to the oldest children, they all confidently shouted this truth in their own language.

Whoever humbles himself like a child, is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.

//MATTHEW 18:4//

6. Almost every lady enjoys a manicure every once in a while. These women had probably never experienced one! I was blessed with gracing these hard working hands with some pretty nail polish. As I painted, I thought about the stories behind these hands; how each scar or callous told a story from their hardworking lives.

7. What a sweetie this little guy was!! He was probably about 3 or 4, but he walked around the church and our clinic as if he owned the place! No one knew where his parents were, but he just played and ran around smiling the entire day without a care in the world.

8. Helping in a pharmacy was a first for me! While counting pills, my teammates and I were constantly reminded what a blessing it is to have access to high quality healthcare here in America. These pills were much more than just medicine to the people; a simple bag of pills gave them hope.

9. These adventurous boys from the village of Benjamin led us on a hike up their local mountain. They giggled and waited patiently as I made my way up the rocky, muddy slope in my maxi skirt and Toms. It was such a pleasure to be treated like one of them and to explore their daily place of play alongside of them.

10. Once we made it to the top the view was incredible!

It’s easier to go down a hill than up it, but the view is much better at the top.

//HENRY WARD BEECHER//

wpid-2015-10-21-11.23.58-1.jpg.jpeg

11.  Red and yellow, black and white, they are precious in His sight, Jesus loves the little children of the world!

God created our skin tones with beautiful variety, but all of our souls are the same color.

//DAVE WILLIS//

12. Two thoughtful brothers generously donated their toy cars to give to the Haitian children. Almost immediately, the dirt transformed into an imaginary race track and kept the little boys occupied for hours.

13. I wish you could hear the voices ringing throughout the Haitian courtyards! I loved when a group of kiddos enthusiastically shared the Creole rendition of the classic Sunday School song, “Father Abraham.”

14. Haiti is an enchantingly beautiful place. Shades of blue and green scenery flashed by as we drove through the mountains. Brightly dressed people and flamboyantly decorated cars accented the natural beauty of the landscape.

15. Boys everywhere seem to love anything involving competition! Soccer balls are a rarity in Haiti. This ball is covered in the gospel, which is written in Creole, rapidly became a popular treasure and a teaching tool.

16. Children have a special gift of making every moment a game, or making anything a toy. Through my eyes, there were very few items to play with, however, they were quite capable of turning their entire world into a playground. The gift of a small toy meant the world to these kids.

wpid-2015-10-21-03.36.38-1.jpg.jpeg

17. Matthew 25:40-45 took on a new meaning throughout this trip. God helped me realize that each person I encountered was actually Jesus in disguise. Hopefully, one day I can stand before the Lord in Heaven, surrounded by people that He used me to reach, and thank Him for allowing me to plant His seeds.

Check out this video for a compilation of the rest of my pictures.

//If not us who will be like Jesus to the least of these//

Remember that everywhere is a mission field. We are called to be imitators of Christ wherever we are. You were put in this world to do something that only YOU can do! God wants to bless you by being a blessing through you.

Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?” And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”

//ISAIAH 6:8//

signature

2 thoughts on “Haiti Through My Eyes {17 Special Moments}

Leave a Reply

