New ‘Do {Making the Cut}

For as long as I can remember choosing my hair style, I’ve thought of donating my hair. Today, I finally took the leap! Upon researching different companies, I ended up choosing Pantene Beautiful Lengths. Unlike many common hair donation companies, they provide wigs free of charge. I wanted to share some background on their mission, tips for growing your hair out, and finally, advice on making the cut!

PANTENE BEAUTIFUL LENGTHS

Pantene Beautiful Lengths is the not only the largest, but the first movement in our nation to provide free, high quality wigs to women affected by cancer. This is the main reason I chose PBL. Locks of Love and other companies charge their wig recipients on a sliding scale based on income level. I wanted to help be a blessing to someone- not a burden!

A minimum of 8 inches is required to donate to the Pantene campaign, which leads us to our next step: growing it out!

GROWING IT OUT

Though I have always wanted to donate my hair, I have never grown my hair out specifically with the intention of donating it. My hair has been long for a while, so length was not an issue, but maintaining healthy hair was.

Coconut Oil Hair Mask

Coconut oil is the powerhouse of oils. There are so many uses; both in cooking AND beauty! I frequently cover every strand on my head in coconut oil. (gross, I know, but hear me out!) The moisture from the oil soaks into your hair, leaving it stronger, shinier, and healthier. This mask helps keep split ends at bay, making it easier to grow out.

Stay Hydrated 

You’ve probably heard this a million times, but it’s true! I drink a ton of water on a daily basis, and I definitely notice a difference in my hair if I slack on this habit.

Sulfate-Free Shampoo

The abundance of bubbles in your shampoo may be doing more harm than good. That lather comes from an ingredient called sulfate.

“Sulfate is an inexpensive chemical used by companies to provide cleaning power and bubbly lather in our shampoos (and some conditioners).”

Sulfates are linked to scalp irritation and hair loss. Next time you buy shampoo, try looking for a sulfate-free option! Here are some of my favorites…

MAKING THE CUT

Today, I said goodbye to about 10 inches of hair. It’s definitely a change, but I’m so thankful that it’s not just a new look for me, but it will help a struggling lady feel beautiful.

I would recommend going to your usual hair stylist. Some advise to visit a special hair donation salon, but knowing and trusting the person with the scissors is vital! Bring a ruler to the appointment so that the right amount gets cut off. Designate your “chopping point” with a ponytail holder and ask your stylist to cut slightly above the holder.

You did it!! Yay!

Now that you have a sassy shorter ‘do, it’s time to send off your hair! Mail your ponytail in a sealed plastic bag, inside of a cushioned envelope, to this address:

Pantene Beautiful Lengths
Attn: 192-123
806 SE 18th Ave.
Grand Rapids, MN 55744

I am only one. But I am one. I cannot do everything, but I can do something. And I will not let what I cannot do interfere with what I can.

//EDWARD EVERETT HALE//

It’s hard to make a major change. It would be even more difficult to live a life where the next doctor’s appointment could mean great joy or deep sorrow. It may sound silly, but I’m thankful for my hair! I’m glad that I was able to grow it out and give it away. I  pray that the woman who receives the “my” wig will deeply know how beautiful and loved she is. I pray that this gift will give her hope, confidence and joy and inspire her to continue fighting her battle with strength. You can make a difference in someones life without even meeting them. By giving of yourself, you have the power to give someone the greatest gift- hope.

She holds on to hope for He is forever faithful.

//1 CORINTHIANS 1:9//

before + after

signature

11 thoughts on “New ‘Do {Making the Cut}

  1. Katie Gressett says:

    Kaytlyn it is soooo beautiful!!! I have been wanting to do this and this has inspired me!! I think we’ll both have shorter haircuts next time we see each other!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rachel Ligon says:

    K- Your new haircut is adorable! I really love it! I’m thrilled for the recipient of your gorgeous locks! it will be a blessing to her for sure!
    Love,
    Rachel Ligon

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kathyc723 says:

    Kaytlyn, you continue to inspire with your beautiful heart! Your story and your mission is lovely and the new style is a knockout! Aunt Melissa will be doubly impressed that you researched the truth before moving forward. I love you so much. Grandma K

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

