Happy Camper {Camp Essentials}

Don’t you just love camp? The campfires, late nights under the stars, nature, songs…I love it all! Last weekend, I had the privilege of being a camp counselor for a few days. I led 6 girls at a weekend retreat for 5th graders. We worshipped together, talked about Jesus, did crafts, talked, laughed, and more! We had a blast, and my heart was filled so much!

img_3748

Camp just isn’t the same if you don’t come prepared with the proper gear. A bad blister or one too many bug bites are sure to ruin a camping trip. Here are some items that I love to ensure a great time at camp!

camp essentials

Hydration

Typically, the majority of camp is spent being active in the heat. Whether it’s hot out or not, it’s vital t0 stay hydrated. My favorite water bottle is my narrow mouth Nalgene The loop top, leakproof cap makes it easy to carry, the BPA free plastic is pretty much impossible to break, and it holds 32 ounces of water without being too bulky.

Footwear

As you probably already know from past blog posts, I love my Chacos. With the awesome arch support, sturdy straps, and overall durability, they’re perfect for any adventure. {Plus if you wear them in the sun long enough you get a pretty funky tan!}

img_4307

//As the beauty of nature is constant, so is the God who made it//

Backpack

I’ve been looking for a cute sling backpack for a while now, and I recently found this Dakine backpack. It holds everything I need, including my large notebook, bible and water bottle. Even when jam packed, it never dug into my shoulders or felt unbearably heavy. At $15, I think it was a great purchase!

dsc03758

Of all the paths you take, make sure a few of them are dirt.

//JOHN MUIR//

Bug Off!

I don’t know about you, but I personally HATE the smell of bug spray. It always makes me feel sticky and smelly, not to mention the fact that I think I get more bug bites when I use it than when I don’t. If you’re anything like me in the bug spray department, you may like natural, homemade bug repellant. All you need are some handy dandy essential oils, witch hazel, distilled water, and a spray bottle.

  • 1/2 cup Witch Hazel
  • 1/2 cup Distilled Water
  • 10 drops Thieves
  • 10 drops Purification
  • 10 drops Peppermint

Combine all ingredients in a spray bottle, spritz some on, and head off on your outdoor adventure!

Headgear

Maybe this is TMI, but my hair always gets gross at camp. I always like to have a few tricks up my sleeve to keep my hair looking decent enough (for camp at least.) I love using headbands, bandanas, and baseball caps to help conceal the craziness. Baseball hats also add some beneficial sun protection.

  • Boho Bandeaus from Natural Life
  • Bandanas
  • Cute Baseball Hats

{Avocado Hat} {Patterned Hat} {TX Hat}

Reading Material

If you have a long trip to camp or are anticipating lots of free time, I’d recommend bringing a book or two for entertainment. You’re at camp! Instead of surfing social media, try immersing yourself in a great story.  My favorite read lately has been Barefoot TribeLines-03

Is any pleasure on earth as great as a circle of Christian friends by a fire?

//C.S. LEWIS//

Thanks for reading! I hope you’re a happy camper today!

signature

6 thoughts on “Happy Camper {Camp Essentials}

  1. Julie Croy says:

    Isn’t great that as believers we have an internal counselor? Thank you Spirit of the living God for guiding us in this temporary life on earth.
    Hugs for no Bugs!
    Mom(my)
    SO PROUD of your dedication to Agape Trail. I know you have blessed many souls the past 3 years!

    Like

  2. Sharon Nelson says:

    I enjoy hearing about the fun things you are doing. Your blogs are written so well. Camps are fun and growing up I went to bible camp in the summers. You have a awesome trip with your dad coming up in June. He sent info so I can mail a check for support. You are a beautiful girl inside and out. Love and hugs and miss you Gr Sharon

    Like

    • Kaytlyn Amanda says:

      Thank you so much Grandma! Yes, camp is very fun! And it usually includes a really impactful encounter with Jesus, which is awesome. Yes, we do have an exciting trip coming up! We’re looking forward to it very much. Thank you, love & miss you too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

