Tools of the Trade {Bible Journaling}

Recently, I wrote a post about art journaling in your Bible. If you’ve seen pictures of Bible art journaling, it may seem like you need the entire inventory of Michaels to create these works of art. Don’t worry, that’s not the case at all! In fact, all you really need is a journaling bible, a pen, maybe a few colored pencils, and a heart that yearns for more of Jesus. Anything else is an extra blessing! This is simply about connecting with God in the most meaningful way to you.

You’re my place of quiet retreat; I wait for your Word to renew me.

//PSALM 119:114//

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

Journaling Bible

I have an ESV Bible single column journaling Bible in the yellow floral pattern. I love the ivory pages and vintage looking cover. Once I finish this one up, I’d really like to purchase a leather softbound one that “grows” as you add things to it because of the relaxed spine. Any Bible with margins on the side will work; there are many to choose from!

Journal

I recently started keeping a journal that coincides with my art journal entries. This has helped me solidify what God is currently teaching me as well as have a record to go back and see what I’ve learned. Adding this step really incorporates depth and dialogue between you and God to accompany the beautiful art in your margins.Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

Sharpie Pens

These pens work perfectly for bible journaling. Make sure to purchase the ones that specifically say Sharpie PEN. Specially formulated to work like pen, these are meant for thin paper, unlike permanent markers. There are two options: ‘fine’ and ‘medium.’ I prefer medium for lettering, and fine for small details and note-taking.

 

Watercolors

I use the most inexpensive, basic watercolors. You can purchase really nice ones if you’d like, but I chose these because I figured they would be a little less pigmented and therefore not bleed through as much. So far that theory has worked!

Date Stamp

I like to look back on my entries and be able to see when I did them. Throughout the Bible God asked His people to remember and mark when and where He did significant things. By  faithfully dating your works, you can reflect on the legacy that God is writing for you in the pages of eternity.

Above all, constantly chase after the realm of God’s kingdom.

Extras

These are some examples of fun embellishments that I usually like to use, but aren’t necessary for a fulfilling bible journaling session.

  • Washi Tape
  • Scrapbook Paper
  • Stickers
  • Stamps + Ink
  • Markers, Crayons, Colored Pencils, etc.
  • Staedler Pens

Lines-02

Thank you Jesus for always pursuing your children. Lord, in Isaiah 55:11 you promise that Your Word will not return void. Jesus there is nothing we need more than You. I know that we all fall short in attempts to go deeper with You; but Father I thank you that none of our messy junk can EVER separate us from your unconditional love. I pray that you will actively seek those who so desperately need a radical encounter with Your amazing grace. You promise to leave the 99 to seek out the 1 who has gone astray. Precious Jesus thank you for freedom and victory because of the cross. Oh how I love you. I lift all of this up to Heaven in Christ’s name.

Amen

Be blessed friends,

signature

 

 

Leave a Reply

